Cooking, Life

Adventures with yeast.

Recently I have started using yeast in my baking. It is far easier than I thought it would be. So far I have made cinnamon buns, spinach, bacon & feta scrolls, and finger buns. I was quite pleased with how my cinnamon buns (pictured) turned out. They were delicious, and got the thumbs up of approval from my partner too. The spinach, bacon & feta rolls were also super yum, however partner didn’t eat them because they were, and I quote, “too healthy”. Oh well, more for me.

I have made 2 batches of finger buns however and neither of them worked at all. The first batch was far too dense, a far cry from the light and fluffy finger buns you’d find at Baker’s Delight. The second batch was considerably less so but still nowhere near as fluffy as I’d like. 

I have no idea what I’m doing wrong! The first time I suspect the milk was too hot and killed the yeast, but the second time it was perfectly warm. I hand-kneaded the first batch, used my dough hooks on the mixer for the second. I let them rise twice for at least an hour each time. If someone who knows more about yeast than I do could give me some tips, that would be fantastic. Or better yet give me another finger bun recipe to try.

Standard

2 thoughts on “Adventures with yeast.

  1. I’m just now venturing into the world of baking bread. I am waiting until my next day off to start. For the most part the only bread we eat is loaf bread for sandwiches. Sooo, fingers crossed!

    I’m not really sure what finger buns are, but I can look into it. ^.^

Leave a Reply

