Baby Number 3, Babyloss, Cooking, Life, parenting

Not Winning Today

I feel like I’m failing at being a mum today. My little girl is upset and clingy and has been from the moment she woke up. I understand that it’s tough being a toddler so I’m trying to be gentle, I wish she could understand that it’s tough being a mum sometimes too.

It’s lunchtime and so far she’s not eaten more than a few slices of apple all day. I feel like a failure for not being able to get her to eat some more, she must be hungry but she won’t let any food pass her lips (she did happily munch on some cardboard though – babies, huh?).

Her nap time has come and gone, and she’s still not asleep. I feel like a failure for not being able to get her to sleep even though I know she’s tired. I know this will make her day even harder. But she just won’t sleep.

Every little cry or whinge makes me feel like a failure because I don’t know what’s wrong and none of my cuddles are making her feel better. My one job is to keep my babe healthy and happy and the happy part just isn’t happening today! 

I feel like a failure of a housewife too because I’m focusing all my attention on my poor babe. The dishes still aren’t done. Floors haven’t been vacuumed. Laundry hasn’t been hung on the line. 

I guess you can’t win every day.

Standard

8 thoughts on “Not Winning Today

  1. Oh love I totally get it. I feel like a failure more often than not. But as someone unbiased what I can see in this post is that you fed her healthy food, you were understanding and patient and as for the cleaning – do it tomorrow. Give yourself a break, you’re doing great x

  2. I totally agree with the comment above! Keep loving her, let it go and try again tomorrow. Babies are mysterious creatures and we can’t keep them happy all the time. But the fact you care so much is a great sign that you’re a wonderful mum! Have some chocolate and try to watch a funny movie…there’s always a new day tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

